Obligations / Ireland

What a company files in Ireland [IE]

Every entry below is the rule as Ireland publishes it. It is a reference, not a calendar: where a deadline runs from something only you know, this page says so instead of showing a date.

A template, not your deadline

This is the rule as published by the registry, checked against the primary source on the date shown. It is not your filing date. Where a deadline runs from incorporation, from a fiscal year the company itself elects, or from an event only you know about, no date can be derived here at all — the figure you see is the formula, not the answer. Extensions, transitional regimes and entity-specific exemptions are not reflected. Confirm with the registry before you rely on a date.

How the financial year is set — Chosen by the company

An Irish company sets its own financial year. The registrar states the rule as a first period running from incorporation and ending no later than 18 months after it, with each subsequent financial year beginning immediately after the previous year end and running no more than 7 days shorter or longer than 12 months. The year end can be moved by filing Form B83 (fee 15 euro), which the registrar will not accept if the resulting financial year would exceed 18 months, if the delivery deadline for that year's financial statements has passed, if it would leave a gap in the periods covered, if it would mean an annual return is never filed, or if less than 5 years have passed since a previous B83 (with an exemption for an EEA subsidiary or holding undertaking aligning its year). The financial year is therefore a date the user must supply, and no deadline counted from it is shown here as a calendar number. Two separate clocks run in Ireland and must not be confused: the annual return runs from the company's Annual Return Date (ARD), which is derived from the date of incorporation and not from the financial year end, while the corporation tax return runs from the end of the accounting period. The financial statements are what ties them together — the registrar requires that documents annexed to an annual return be «made up to a date falling not more than 9 months before the date to which the return is made up».

Companies Registration Office — Financial Statements Requirements: «every document annexed to an annual return shall cover the period since the end of the period covered by the financial statements annexed to the preceding annual return and shall be made up to a date falling not more than 9 months before the date to which the return is made up»; first financial year ending not later than 18 months after incorporation; each subsequent financial year not more than 7 days shorter or longer than 12 months; Form B83 (fee 15 euro) and the five refusal grounds. The two-clock distinction (ARD vs accounting period) from CRO — Annual Return Date (cro.ie/annual-return/annual-return-date/) and Revenue — Corporation Tax payment and filing. Companies Act 2014 itself was not read: irishstatutebook.ie returned 403 on its section pages · checked 2026-09-22

Annual return (Form B1) to the Companies Registration Office

Formula, not a date
Filed to
Companies Registration Office (CRO), Dublin — filed electronically through CORE, the CRO's online filing portal; the Form B1, the financial statements and the payment must all be submitted electronically
Who it applies to
Every entity in the jurisdiction
Every company on the register owes an annual return, whether or not it traded. The date it is made up to is the company's Annual Return Date (ARD), which is derived from the date of incorporation, not from the financial year: «A company's first annual return is made up to the date which is 6 months post-incorporation, no financial statements attached», and the registrar's leaflet states the recurring rule as «The ARD in any year is the anniversary of the ARD in the previous year unless the company changes it». So the first return is a bare return and every later one carries financial statements. The ARD can be moved: Form B1B73 nominates a later ARD, costs 20 euro, must be filed within 56 days of the existing ARD, and may be used «not more than once in every five years»; once a new ARD is nominated, financial statements are required with the returns that follow. Filing has been mandatory electronic since June 2017. This record is the one for an Irish-registered company; a branch or external company registered under a different part of the Act is on a different regime and the six-month figure must not be carried across to it.
Deadline
Counted as 6 months from incorporation.
Extensions and exceptions: There is no extension of the filing deadline as such, but two mechanisms move the date the clock starts from. Form B1B73 nominates a later Annual Return Date (20 euro, within 56 days of the existing ARD, not more than once in every five years). Form B83 (15 euro) moves the financial year end, which does not move the ARD but changes which financial statements the return must carry. A District Court or High Court application to extend the time for filing exists under the Companies Act but was not read at the primary publisher and is therefore not described here.
If missed
«A late filing fee of 100 euro becomes due in respect of an annual return on the day after the expiry of the filing deadline ... with an additional daily default fee of 3 euro accruing thereafter, up to a maximum of 1,200 euro per return.» The numeric fields below carry those figures. The filing deadline the fee runs from is stated inconsistently by the registrar's own publications and this record does not resolve it: the current CRO pages say the return must be delivered «not later than 56 days after its effective date», while the same sentence about the fee in CRO Information Leaflet No. 23 (edition 06/2024) reads «which deadline is 28 days after the 'Return made up to date' on the B1 form». A second consequence sits alongside the fee and is described under the audit record: loss of audit exemption. The registrar's page on missed deadlines also notes that the ordinary 20 euro filing fee is payable in addition to the late fee, and the Companies Act provides separate offences for persistent default, whose text was not read at the primary publisher.
State fee
€20
The CRO fee schedule lists the Annual Return Form B1 at 20 euro, whether filed through secretarial software or through the online form; there is no paper option. Form B1B73 (nomination of a new annual return date) is also 20 euro, online only, and Form B83 (change of financial year end) is 15 euro. These are registry fees only and exclude the cost of preparing or auditing the financial statements.
Proof of filing
The Form B1 submitted on CORE with the CRO's electronic acknowledgement of receipt and the registration number of the submission, together with the financial statements uploaded before the signature page is sent; once registered, the return and the financial statements appear in the company's public file at the CRO and the company's ARD on the register moves to the following year.
Primary source: CRO — Filing an Annual Return: «An Annual Return must be delivered to the CRO not later than 56 days after its effective date»; «In most cases, audited financial statements must be attached to the annual return. These financial statements must cover a period which ends not more than nine months prior to the date to which the annual return is made up»; mandatory e-filing since June 2017 through CORE; «Financial Statements must be uploaded prior to sending in a signed signature page to the CRO». First ARD and the B1B73 mechanism from CRO — Annual Return Date (cro.ie/annual-return/annual-return-date/): «A company's first annual return is made up to the date which is 6 months post-incorporation, no financial statements attached»; B1B73 at 20 euro, within 56 days, «not more than once in every five years». The recurring-ARD rule «The ARD in any year is the anniversary of the ARD in the previous year unless the company changes it» and the late fee from CRO Information Leaflet No. 23, edition 06/2024 (cro.ie/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/Info-Leaflet-23.pdf). Late fee also on CRO — Missed Deadlines (cro.ie/annual-return/missed-deadlines/): 100 euro, 3 euro per day, maximum 1,200 euro per return. Fees from CRO — Company Fees (cro.ie/publications/fees/company/)
checked 2026-09-22 · Rechecked every 24 months

Statutory audit of the financial statements filed with the annual return

Formula, not a date
Filed to
Not a separate filing: the auditor's report forms part of the financial statements annexed to the annual return delivered to the Companies Registration Office through CORE
Who it applies to
Only above a threshold — turnover > 15,000,000 EUR
An audit is the default; the exemption is what has to be earned, and it has three separate conditions. First, size — the registrar lists the small-company criteria as «Balance sheet total does not exceed 7.5m euro», «Turnover does not exceed 15m euro» and «Number of employees does not exceed 50», of which the company must meet two of three «in respect of that year and the financial year immediately preceding that year». The turnover figure is what the threshold field above carries, but it is only one of three tests and a company under 15m euro of turnover can still need an audit on the balance-sheet or headcount test. These figures are current ones: S.I. No. 301 of 2024 raised small-company turnover from 12m to 15m euro and the balance-sheet total from 6m to 7.5m euro (and micro-company turnover from 700,000 to 900,000 euro, balance sheet from 350,000 to 450,000 euro), for «each financial year beginning on or after 1 January 2024» or, at the company's election, on or after 1 January 2023. The employee number was not changed by that instrument. Second, class — the company «must not come within any of the 18 classes of companies listed in the Fifth Schedule», and public limited companies, public unlimited companies, investment companies, credit institutions and insurance undertakings cannot avail of the exemption whatever their size. Third, timeliness — «the company's annual return, to which Financial Statements are attached, must be filed on time».
Deadline
Counted from an event, not from the calendar.
No date can be derived here. This deadline runs from something this page does not know — the financial year the company itself elects, or an event only you can date. What is published is the rule, not the day.
If missed
The sanction is not a sum but the loss of the exemption itself, and the registrar's own publications state it two different ways; this record does not resolve the difference. The current CRO page on audit exemption says the rule changed on 16 July 2025 and that now «a company will lose its audit exemption if it files its annual return late more than once within a five-year period», that is, a first late return no longer costs the exemption. CRO Information Leaflet No. 23 (edition 06/2024) still carries the older rule: «If a company's annual return is not filed on time, the company cannot avail of the audit exemption in the following two years and must file audited Financial Statements in both years». Both are left here as published. Whichever applies, the cost of a lost exemption is the cost of two audits, which is not a published figure and is not asserted.
Proof of filing
The auditor's report on the financial statements for the financial year, or, where the exemption is taken, the directors' statement claiming audit exemption on the face of the balance sheet, in each case as uploaded with the annual return and visible afterwards in the company's public file at the CRO.
Primary source: CRO — Audit Exemption: the company «must qualify as a 'small company'», «must not come within any of the 18 classes of companies listed in the Fifth Schedule», and «the company's annual return, to which Financial Statements are attached, must be filed on time»; exclusion of public limited companies, public unlimited companies, investment companies, credit institutions and insurance undertakings; rule change effective 16 July 2025 — «a company will lose its audit exemption if it files its annual return late more than once within a five-year period». Size criteria from CRO — Small Company (cro.ie/annual-return/financial-statements-requirements/small-company/): balance sheet total not exceeding 7.5m euro, turnover not exceeding 15m euro, employees not exceeding 50, two of three, «in respect of that year and the financial year immediately preceding that year». The raised figures and their application from European Union (Adjustments of Size Criteria for Certain Undertakings) Regulations 2024, S.I. No. 301 of 2024 (irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2024/si/301/made/en/print), amending sections 280A and 280D of the Companies Act 2014, applying to «each financial year beginning on or after 1 January 2024» or, at the company's election, on or after 1 January 2023. Older loss-of-exemption wording from CRO Information Leaflet No. 23, edition 06/2024
checked 2026-09-22 · Rechecked every 12 months

Corporation tax return (Form CT1) to Revenue

Formula, not a date
Filed to
Revenue Commissioners — filed through the Revenue Online Service (ROS), which is mandatory for companies under Revenue's mandatory e-filing rules
Who it applies to
Every entity in the jurisdiction
Every company within the charge to Irish corporation tax files a Form CT1 for each accounting period, and the return and the payment share one deadline: «A company must file its return, and pay any tax due, nine months after the end of the accounting period.» The clock here is the accounting period, not the Annual Return Date, so a company's CT1 deadline and its CRO deadline generally fall in different months and must be tracked separately. Filing is electronic: «A company must use the Revenue Online Service (ROS) to file its return and pay any tax due under Mandatory e-Filing.» The day within the ninth month depends on how the company files and pays — the 23rd for a company using ROS, the 21st for one that fails to pay and file electronically.
Deadline
Day 23 of month 9 after the end of the financial year.
Extensions and exceptions: There is no application-based extension. The 23rd rather than the 21st of the ninth month is itself the concession for paying and filing through ROS: «The company must make this payment on, or before, the 23rd of the ninth month», while «Companies that fail to pay and file electronically ... must pay this tax on, or before, the 21st of the month.» This record carries the 23rd, the ROS date, because electronic filing is mandatory for companies.
No date can be derived here. This deadline runs from something this page does not know — the financial year the company itself elects, or an event only you can date. What is published is the rule, not the day.
If missed
Late filing triggers a surcharge calculated on the tax, not a flat fee, so the numeric fields below are left empty rather than filled with a figure that would be wrong for every company but one. Revenue states it as: «a surcharge of: 5% of the tax due, up to a maximum of 12,695 euro, if filed within two months of the filing date or 10% of the tax due, up to a maximum of 63,485 euro, if filed more than two months after the filing date.» Interest on late payment is a separate charge and its rate was not read at the primary publisher for this record.
Proof of filing
The Form CT1 for the accounting period as submitted on ROS, with the ROS acknowledgement and notice of assessment, together with the payment receipt for the balance of corporation tax due on the same date.
Primary source: Revenue — Corporation Tax (CT) payment and filing: «A company must file its return, and pay any tax due, nine months after the end of the accounting period. The company must make this payment on, or before, the 23rd of the ninth month»; «Companies that fail to pay and file electronically must submit their return and pay any associated tax. These companies must pay this tax on, or before, the 21st of the month»; «A company must use the Revenue Online Service (ROS) to file its return and pay any tax due under Mandatory e-Filing»; surcharge «5% of the tax due, up to a maximum of 12,695 euro, if filed within two months of the filing date or 10% of the tax due, up to a maximum of 63,485 euro, if filed more than two months after the filing date»
checked 2026-09-22 · Rechecked every 24 months

Preliminary corporation tax payment

Formula, not a date
Filed to
Revenue Commissioners — paid through the Revenue Online Service (ROS) for the accounting period in progress, before the period has ended
Who it applies to
Every entity in the jurisdiction
This is the obligation most easily missed, because it falls due before the accounting period it relates to has ended and long before the CT1 is prepared. Two regimes apply. A small company — one with «a CT liability of less than 200,000 euro in their previous accounting period» — pays in one instalment «31 days before the end of their accounting period, and before the 23rd of that month». A large company with an accounting period longer than seven months pays twice: on «the 23rd of the sixth month», either «50% of the CT liability for the previous accounting period» or «45% of the CT liability for the current accounting period», and on «the 23rd of the eleventh month» enough to bring preliminary tax to «90% of the final tax due for the current accounting period». A large company with a period of seven months or less pays «90% of the preliminary tax in one instalment». The 200,000 euro figure is the dividing line between the two regimes, not a threshold below which nothing is owed.
Deadline
Counted from an event, not from the calendar.
No date can be derived here. This deadline runs from something this page does not know — the financial year the company itself elects, or an event only you can date. What is published is the rule, not the day.
If missed
Underpayment or late payment of preliminary tax is charged with interest rather than a flat penalty, and the interest rate was not read at the primary publisher for this record, so the numeric fields are left empty. Revenue's pages describe the consequence in terms of the percentages that must be reached — 90% of the final liability for the period, or the 50%/45% and 90% instalment tests for a large company — with a shortfall against those percentages exposing the company to interest on the amount underpaid from the original due date.
Proof of filing
The ROS payment confirmation for the preliminary corporation tax instalment, identifying the accounting period it relates to, together with the computation showing which test was used (previous period liability or current period estimate) and the percentage reached.
Primary source: Revenue — When is preliminary Corporation Tax (CT) due?: small companies «must pay their preliminary tax in one instalment if they have a CT liability of less than 200,000 euro in their previous accounting period», due «31 days before the end of their accounting period, and before the 23rd of that month»; large companies with an accounting period longer than seven months pay on «the 23rd of the sixth month» either «50% of the CT liability for the previous accounting period» or «45% of the CT liability for the current accounting period», and on «the 23rd of the eleventh month» bring preliminary tax to «90% of the final tax due for the current accounting period»; shorter periods pay «90% of the preliminary tax in one instalment». reviewAnchor 10 because Irish tax amounts are ordinarily changed at the October Budget and enacted in the Finance Act that follows
checked 2026-09-22 · Rechecked every 12 months

VAT registration on exceeding the turnover threshold

Formula, not a date
Filed to
Revenue Commissioners — registration applied for through the Revenue Online Service (ROS)
Who it applies to
Only above a threshold — turnover > 42,500 EUR
Revenue states the trigger simply — «Value-Added Tax (VAT) registration is obligatory when your annual turnover exceeds the VAT thresholds» — and «you must register for VAT if you are an accountable person», while «Traders whose turnover is below the VAT thresholds, farmers and sea fishers are not generally obliged to register for VAT». There is no single threshold: Revenue's published list gives 42,500 euro «in the case of persons supplying services only»; 42,500 euro for persons supplying goods at reduced or standard rates manufactured from zero-rated materials; 85,000 euro «for persons supplying goods»; 85,000 euro «for persons supplying both goods and services where 90% or more of the turnover is from the supplies of goods»; 10,000 euro for «taxable persons making mail-order or intra-Community distance sales of goods and cross-border Telecommunications, Broadcasting and Electronic (TBE) services into the State»; and 41,000 euro for «persons making acquisitions from other EU Member States». The threshold field above carries the services figure, the one that binds a typical service company; a goods business is tested against 85,000 euro and a distance seller against 10,000 euro. The period over which turnover is measured, and whether the obligation bites on exceeding or on being likely to exceed, are set by the VAT Consolidation Act and could not be read from Revenue's threshold page, so this record does not state them.
Deadline
Counted from an event, not from the calendar.
No date can be derived here. This deadline runs from something this page does not know — the financial year the company itself elects, or an event only you can date. What is published is the rule, not the day.
If missed
Revenue's registration and threshold pages publish no penalty figure for failing to register on time. The practical consequence is that VAT remains due on supplies made once the person became an accountable person, with interest and penalties under the VAT Consolidation Act, whose text was not read at the primary publisher. No numeric fields are filled.
Proof of filing
The VAT registration application submitted through ROS and Revenue's notification of the VAT registration number and effective date of registration, together with the turnover computation showing which threshold was crossed and when.
Primary source: Revenue — VAT thresholds: 42,500 euro «in the case of persons supplying services only»; 42,500 euro for goods at reduced or standard rates manufactured from zero-rated materials; 85,000 euro «for persons supplying goods»; 85,000 euro «for persons supplying both goods and services where 90% or more of the turnover is from the supplies of goods»; 10,000 euro for «taxable persons making mail-order or intra-Community distance sales of goods and cross-border Telecommunications, Broadcasting and Electronic (TBE) services into the State»; 41,000 euro for «persons making acquisitions from other EU Member States»; page published 06 May 2026. Obligation wording from the same page — «Value-Added Tax (VAT) registration is obligatory when your annual turnover exceeds the VAT thresholds» — and from Revenue — Who should register for VAT? (revenue.ie/en/vat/vat-registration/who-should-register-for-vat/index.aspx): «you must register for VAT if you are an accountable person»; «Traders whose turnover is below the VAT thresholds, farmers and sea fishers are not generally obliged to register for VAT». The measurement period and the exceeded / likely-to-exceed wording are not on those pages and are not asserted here. reviewAnchor 10 because Irish tax amounts are ordinarily changed at the October Budget
checked 2026-09-22 · Rechecked every 12 months

Beneficial ownership filing with the Register of Beneficial Ownership

Formula, not a date
Filed to
Registrar of Beneficial Ownership of Companies and Industrial and Provident Societies (RBO) — filed online through the RBO portal, which is separate from the CRO's CORE portal even though both registers are administered from the same office
Who it applies to
Only registered foreign entities
The obligation falls on relevant entities: «All relevant entities are required to file data with the central register of beneficial ownership», with an exemption for companies listed on a regulated market that are already subject to adequate transparency disclosure requirements. Unlike some registers, the Irish one has no annual confirmation: this record is included because a beneficial ownership filing is owed by every entity, but it is event-driven throughout. The first filing is due within five months of incorporation — «A newly incorporated entity has 5 months from incorporation in which to register its beneficial ownership with the RBO» — and after that the entity files only when something changes, within 14 days of the change. An entity that has filed and whose ownership has not changed owes nothing in a given year, so no annual reminder should be generated for it. This is the point where Ireland differs from jurisdictions where the beneficial-owner data is reconfirmed with the annual accounts, and carrying an annual duty across from one of those would be wrong.
Deadline
Counted as 5 months from incorporation.
Extensions and exceptions: No extension is published. The five-month period applies to the first filing only; a later change to the beneficial ownership data must be filed within 14 days of the change, which is an event obligation with no waiting period and is recorded here in the text rather than as a second deadline.
If missed
The sanction is criminal, not a filing fee, and the numeric fields are deliberately left empty because neither published figure fits them. The RBO states that a person guilty of an offence under the regulations is liable «on summary conviction, to a Class A fine» or «on conviction on indictment, to a fine not exceeding 500,000 euro». The euro value of a Class A fine is set by the Fines Act and was not read at the primary publisher, so it is not stated here; and the 500,000 euro figure is the maximum a court may impose on indictment, not a penalty that accrues against a late filer, so putting it in the cap field would misrepresent it to anything reading this record as a running penalty.
Proof of filing
The RBO submission confirmation for the entity, together with the entity's own internal register of beneficial owners kept under the regulations and, where a change was filed, the dated record of the change showing that the filing was made within 14 days of it.
Primary source: Register of Beneficial Ownership — FAQs: «All relevant entities are required to file data with the central register of beneficial ownership», with the exemption for companies listed on a regulated market subject to adequate transparency disclosure requirements; «A newly incorporated entity has 5 months from incorporation in which to register its beneficial ownership with the RBO»; changes to be filed within «14 days of the change»; penalties «on summary conviction, to a Class A fine» or «on conviction on indictment, to a fine not exceeding 500,000 euro». No annual or periodic re-confirmation obligation appears on the RBO's pages, and none is asserted here. The euro value of a Class A fine is set by the Fines Act and was not read at the primary publisher
checked 2026-09-22 · Rechecked every 24 months
← All jurisdictions